Do as I Say, Not as I Do

IMG_3233Another week, another podcast; and I have to admit, while I’m becoming more and more confident in the advice I have to give this entire podcast was a lot of me giving sage (some would say… no one has said it yet but you know, I try) advice to myself.

I spend a lot of time talking in this podcast about fears, insecurities, and the possibility of love while doing my best to squash my own fears and doubts in my most current dating situation. I’m still learning how to date with anxiety, how to allow myself to eb and flow in the process and not allow myself to be the own roadblock in a potentially great relationship. Realizing that the majority of the reassurance I think I need to confidently move forward with opening up to someone else comes from within and that clinging to the idea of something working out only creates the problem I’m most afraid of.

I also spend a lot of time talking about how learning someone new is a lot less romantic than we are all predisposed to believe. In the beginning your partner doesn’t know your communication style or how you express love and affection and a lot of times those two things aren’t the same as your partners way of communicating and expressing affection and you have to learn to deal with that. That’s the deal when you have feelings for and care about someone – you resolve to learn more about someone over time and the idea that someone’s just automatically going to get and understand you is unrealistic.

But of course I can say this and actively be learning how to do it myself at the same time. It’s always easier to give perspective to people who aren’t yourself. I’m working on it, I’m trying to take my own advice and I’m trying to let go of my own since of panic and uncertainty and find room to move intentional and slowly to ensure a solid relationship foundation.

So listen, subscribe, and know that this recording is steeped from a sincere place that many who write in struggle with and maybe that relation is exactly what people need to hear – that we’re all going through this love/dating/relationship stuff together and it’s normal and expected and you control how you move through it and choose to see the best possible outcomes instead of allowing your fear get the best of you.

Oh, and here is the link to the Love Language quiz I talk about substantial in one portion of the podcast. Knowing how you express and communicate early on and talking about it will allow you to see things from your partners point of view and will allow you to learn more about your partner at the same time which will create a deeper bond.

As always thanks for listening!

Xoxo,

Chelsea

Leave a Reply

