I’m Going Going, Back, Back, To DC, DC

1-jpg*** It’s besides the point that, that’s not how the song goes.

It’s official, I am going back to Washington DC. Not for a visit, no – for the WHOLE SUMMER.

How did this happen asked no one, you ask? Well, this is one of those, “when life gives you lemons” moments where I make an impulsive decision, because that’s never back fired on me before. But, I never imagined 4 weeks ago that I would accept a job in Denver, and that my soon-to-be-boss would tell me my start date wasn’t until August, so given those lemons – TaDa!

After 2 years of schools, internships and jobs I didn’t just leave DC, I fled. I fled because of the only thing that makes girls want to flee anywhere – a boy. Not just any boy, the boy. You know the one, the one that ruins it for all the other boys that come after, the one who literally broke me when I was at my best, the one that 2000 miles and all the time in the world couldn’t erase….. until now.  I wasn’t an adult until I left DC, everything since is categorized in my head as ADC (After DC) and anything before it feels like a dream, some version of myself before shit really hit the fan (also known as BDC). I was a child the last time I was in DC, hanging out with grown folks and pretending I was one of them, but I wasn’t. Now, it’s like I’ll be going back to my childhood home to realize that everything looks a bit smaller, a little less scary, and a lot more fun.

Don’t get me wrong, this is not a “do over”, rather a chance to have the time of my life in my adopted city to see just how far I’ve come. It’s also a chance for me to catch up with people that I’ve been Facebook envious of for too long. Rooftop parties, check. Marine Corp band, check. Networking happy hours that turn into nights you can’t forget, check, check, check. This is the opportunity I never seized and now I’m impulsively going back because I didn’t’ finish my DC story the way I should have. The way it was meant to be.

I wanted this year to be the most adventurous, most impulsive, most everything type of year and a quarter of the way through it I can safely say I’ve almost dinged every item on my resolution (#GoMe). In what can only be described as a Scandal size plot twist I’m going, going, back, back, to DC, DC and I couldn’t be happier!

Summer 2014 is about to be epic!

Leave a Reply

